Site Overlay

Membership Levels

There are no “ranks” in the Order of the Arrow. Once you finish your Ordeal you have all the rights and duties of a OA member. The additional honors let you re-affirm your commitment to cheerfulness and service. They also allow you to be apart of certain ceremonies teams.

This is the sash you receive after you complete the ordeal.

After 6 months in the OA you can earn the brotherhood sash. To earn brotherhood you must learn:

  • The OA Obligation  
  • The OA Song 
  • The Admonition (and its meaning). This can only be found by asking another person at a OA event
  • The Sign of the Ordeal
  • The OA Handclasp

Alertness to the needs of others is the mark of the Vigil Honor. It calls for an individual with an unusual awareness of the possibilities within each situation.

The Vigil Honor is the highest honor that the Order of the Arrow can bestow upon its members for service to lodge, council, and Scouting. Membership cannot be won by a person’s conscious endeavors.

The Vigil Honor is a high mark of distinction and recognition reserved for those Arrowmen who, by reason of exceptional service, personal effort, and unselfish interest, have made distinguished contributions beyond the immediate responsibilities of their position of office to one or more of the following:

  • Lodge
  • Order of the Arrow
  • Scouting community
  • Scout Camp